[YOUR ADVENTURE] NORWAY, EPISODE 4 : BIVOUAC IN THE HEART OF NORWAY

In this fourth episode of Théo Giacometti and his friend Simon Faure-Vincent’s trip in Norway, Théo explains the ups and downs of bivouac in the wild ! 

Giacometti-hikingonthemoon.norvege37-Bivouac.

Theo Giacometti your adventure Norway

Norway is a hospitable land, to those willing to brave it, provided that you’re prepared. At night, the temperature plunges and it’s not unusual, even at this time of year, to wake up a few centimetres of freshly fallen snow. Adequate equipment and flawless preparation are therefore essential.

Giacometti-norvege-Bivouac.

Because the sun only sets for a few hours, between midnight and 3am, we were sometimes able to walk until early evening. However, it’s always more sensible and safer to find somewhere to bivouac early on. I was always careful to find a dry spot, or at least somewhere as dry as possible, sheltered from the wind and near water.

Bivouac point d'eau

We pitched the tent as quickly as possible so we could protect our belongings in case it rained. It’s always best to inflate your mattress and unroll your duvet quite early as that gives them time to warm up a bit if the sun is out. Giacometti-hikingonthemoon.norvege28-Bivouac.

If there’s enough time, it’s often nice to quietly explore your surroundings, without being encumbered by a backpack. Your body feels energized and more agile and, mentally, you feel freer and more alive. There’s no shortage of things to do when you’re bivouacking. Find water, freshen up, rinse out a few items of clothing, explore the local plant life, track an elk or a herd of reindeer or try a few casts in a lake or stream, in the hope of finding a fish willing to act as a substitute for our meager rations of dried food!
Giacometti-hikingonthemoon.norvege35-Bivouac.

When you’re hiking self-sufficiently, food is a sacred commodity that you ration, protect and savour. Energy bars are carefully counted and warm meals become an unspeakable pleasure. You try to delay meal times just a little so you can enjoy them as much as possible. The time spent cooking was nearly always devoted to daily stretching.
Cuisson. Bivouac

Our evenings were often short, despite the fact that we were surrounded by light; the 8 hours of daily walking got the better of us well before nightfall. But sometimes, when excitement kept us awake, it was magical to be able observe the sun that never set, and admire the colours so characteristic of these wild expanses of land, bathed in the most profound silence imaginable; I’d lean against a rock, well wrapped up,  luxuriating in a unique and inimitable sense of completeness – a high point of those very special days, days that we had already begun to reminisce about.

Repas. Bivouac

Repas.Bivouac

Bivouac. Paysage

Commentaires

comments

Lire cet article en Français

Leer este artículo en español

By using this site, you agree to the use of cookies that enhance your browsing experience on the site, helping us offer you services and information that you might be interested in, and social network sharing. I agree More details

[VOTRE AVENTURE] NORVÈGE, EPISODE 4 : BIVOUAC AU COEUR DE LA NORVÈGE

Dans ce quatrième épisode dédié à l’aventure norvégienne de Théo Giacometti et de son ami Simon Faure-Vincent, Théo revient sur le plaisir des bivouacs au coeur de la nature norvégienne.

Giacometti-hikingonthemoon.norvege37-Bivouac.

Theo Giacometti votre aventure Norvège
La Norvège est une terre accueillante pour qui veut l’affronter, à condition d’y être préparé. La nuit, les températures chutent et il n’est pas rare, même en cette période de se réveiller avec quelques centimètres de neige fraîche. Équipement adéquat et organisation sans faille sont donc de rigueur.

Giacometti-norvege-Bivouac.

Le soleil ne se couchant que quelques heures, entre minuit et 3 heures, nous avons parfois pu marcher jusqu’en début de soirée. Cependant, il est toujours plus raisonnable et plus sûr de choisir un endroit pour bivouaquer au plus tôt. J’ai toujours pris le temps de chercher un endroit sec, ou du moins le plus possible, à l’abri du vent et proche d’une source d’eau.

Bivouac point d'eau

Nous montions la tente au plus vite, afin de pouvoir mettre les affaires à l’abris en cas d’averse. Il est toujours mieux de gonfler le matelas et de dérouler le duvet assez tôt, cela leur laisse le temps de chauffer un peu si le soleil est de la partie.Giacometti-hikingonthemoon.norvege28-Bivouac.

Si le temps le permet il est souvent très agréable d’aller découvrir les environs tranquillement, déchargé du sac. Le corps retrouve un peu d’entrain et de mobilité, et l’esprit parait plus libre, plus vif. Les occupations ne manquent pas au cours d’un bivouac. Trouver de l’eau, faire un brin de toilette, rincer quelques habits, découvrir la flore locale, suivre les traces d’un élan ou d’un troupeaux de rennes ou tenter quelques lancers dans un lac ou un courant, dans l’espoir qu’un poisson veuille bien se substituer à notre ration lyophilisée !Giacometti-hikingonthemoon.norvege35-Bivouac.

En autonomie, la nourriture est un bien sacré que l’on rationne, protège et savoure. Les barres énergétiques sont comptées, et les repas chauds un bonheur sans nom. On essaye de les retarder un peu, afin d’en profiter le plus possible. Le temps de cuisson est presque toujours un moment consacré aux étirements quotidiens.Cuisson. Bivouac

Malgré la lumière régnant autour de nous, les soirées sont souvent courtes, les journées de 8 heures de marches ayant raison de nous bien avant la nuit. Mais quand parfois l’excitation nous tient éveillés, il est assez magique d’observer ce soleil qui ne se couche jamais, les couleurs si particulières de ces étendues sauvages dans un silence plus profond que ce que l’on pourrait imaginer. C’est là le point d’orgue de ces journées si particulières, que l’on aime déjà se raconter, assis contre un rocher, bien emmitouflé, dans un sentiment de plénitude unique et inimitable.

Repas. Bivouac

Repas.Bivouac

Bivouac. Paysage

Commentaires

comments

Read this article in English

Leer este artículo en español

En visitant ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies pour améliorer la qualité de votre visite, vous proposer des services et offres adaptés, ainsi que des options de partage social. J'accepte En savoir plus